The department of Information Technology is one of the recognized nodal research centers of Anna University since 2011, for pursuing PhD and M.S degree programs.  The department currently has projects worth Rs. 1.4 crores from various funding agencies like DIT, DST, DRDO, AICTE and SSN Trust. Currently there are 34 research scholars actively pursuing their PhD research in our department. These research scholars are guided by 7 accomplished faculty members, who have obtained their PhDs from renowned institutions like IIT, IISc, and Anna University. There is a fine research ambience in our department, with 3 labs out of the total 8, dedicated for research, which house the latest high end machines, software tools and special hardware. The impetus given to research by the college and the department has seen a dramatic increase in publications over the past decade, with a total of 273 publications in refereed journals and international conferences, so far.  The fortnightly held research seminars by faculty members on their respective areas of research complement the 65 research seminars, workshops and symposiums held in our department during the recent years.

The various research groups and the associated faculty members are:

Big Data Analytics and Data Mining
Dr. S. Karthika M.E., Ph.D
Ms. S. Mohanavalli M.E., (Ph.D.)
Ms. Srividya M.E.,

Semantic Web Services and Internet of Things
Mr. K.R. Uthayan M.E., (Ph.D.)
Ms. T. Shanmughapriya M.E., (Ph.D.)
Mr. R. Vinob Chander B.E., M.E., (Ph.D) MIETE, MISTE
Ms. S. Sasirekha B.E. M.E., (Ph.D)

Speech Processing
Dr. T. Nagarajan Ph.D.
Dr. A. Shahina M.Tech., Ph.D.,
Ms. P. Vasuki M.E.,(Ph.D.)
Ms. N. Sripriya M.E.,(Ph.D.)
Ms. N. Radha M.E., (Ph.D)
Ms. S. Uma Maheswari M.E., (Ph.D)

Image Processing
Dr. T. Sree Sharmila, M.E., Ph.D.
Mr. V. Thanikachalam M.E.,(Ph.D.)
Ms. R. Swathika B.E. M.Tech., (Ph.D)
Ms. S. Poornima B.E., M.E., (Ph.D.)
Ms. S. Vidhusha M.E.,(Ph.D)
Ms. J. Sofia Jennifer M.Tech.,(IT)
Ms. J.K. Josephine Julina M.E.,

Wireless Communication Networks and Information Security
Dr. S. Chithra M.E. Ph.D
Dr. N. Bhalaji M.E., Ph.D
Mr. I. Joe Louis Paul M.E.,(Ph.D.)
Ms. E.M. Malathy M.E., (Ph.D.)
Ms. G. Muneeswari B.E. M.E., (Ph.D.)
Mr. K. Kabilan M.Tech

Cloud Computing
Mr. A.Sandana Karuppan. B.E., M.E., (Ph.D)
Mr. V. Arul Kumar M.E (Ph.D.)

VLSI and Embedded Systems
Dr. R. Srinivasan Ph.D
Mr. V. Sivamurugan M.E., (Ph.D.)

Publications and Projects