About the Department

The Department of Physics, established in 1996, caters to the basic foundation course, Engineering Physics, a baseline for any engineering stream. The department has a well-established laboratory to accommodate sixty students at a time.

The department has nine highly qualified and dedicated faculty members with specialization in various disciplines of Physics. As a result, the department enjoys the privilege of being one of the leading research departments in the Institution. It has been duly recognized as a Research Centre by Anna University, Chennai, for conducting Ph.D. programmes.

The department has established a Center for Crystal Growth in 2005 and an Optical Network lab in 2006 for conducting active research.

In addition an   NMDC  centre has been established in January 2010 in association with NPMASS.

The dept has completed 5 sponsored research projects worth 63.23lakhs and we currently have 10 ongoing projects worth 2.38 crores. 4 projects have been submitted this year to a total worth of 1.19Cr in various disciplines – underwater acoustics, silicon photonics & crystal growth.

The faculty members of the department visit various national and international laboratories frequently to update and enhance their knowledge to serve the social and student community.

Quick Links