Smart India Hackathon 2017


The team lead by J Aditya of the Computer Science Department and mentored by Chaaran S and Aravind Muthuram, SSN alumni, won the first prize under the category of Ministry of Skill Development held at Chandigarh. The team received a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000 and a chance to be considered for starting up their own enterprise under the AICTE start up scheme and mentored by ministry officials of skill development.


The team led by Muthu Annamalai of the Computer Science Department mentored by Sathish Palaniappan, an SSN alumnus, won the third prize under the category of Ministry of Postal Services at Jaipur. They were awarded a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and a chance to be considered for starting up their own enterprise under the AICTE start up scheme and mentored by ministry officials of postal department.


 Valeo Innovation Challenge

A total of 1628 teams registered for the Valeo innovation Challenge. Jury comprised 70 independent scientists and Valeo experts. 24 Semifinalists were selected from 13 different countries and 23 different universities and institutions. A total of 11 teams selected for technological innovations category out of this only 2 teams from India and both are from SSNCE and both are 2nd year students for Mechanical Engineering.


The team led by  Ankit kumar  of the 2nd year Mechanical engineering and the Team Led by D Vishal of the 2nd year Mechanical engineering Department mentored by Associate Prof. Dr.S. Suresh kumar.


Both the teams have won 5000 Euros each and will compete for the first prize of 100000 Euros in the final round. Please find the link below and attachment for more details.

Mass Screening Device for Osteoarthritis

National Research Development Corporation, Ministry of Science & Technology held a competition for working professionals, students, research scholars all over India to demonstrate working prototypes which can be funded for commercialization.  From over 150 teams 14 teams, which included 2 teams from SSN, were shortlisted for presentation at Indian National Science Academy New Delhi in the presence of Minister of Science and Technology Dr. Harsh Vardhan. The jury consisted of a team headed by Secretary of Niti Ayog. Finally the prototype “Mass Screening Device for Osteoarthritis” designed by Abirami, Thamizhamuthan, Meghla of final year Bio Medical Engineering secured the first prize of Rs. 50,000. They will be assisted by NG Lakshmi Narayanan Chief Business Development Officer, National Research Development Corporation to patent their product.


More than the prize money, this is a very prestigious competition which is evident from the fact that the Minister himself sat for the final assessment.



Quick Links